Excellence in Leadership Award

The USAging Excellence in Leadership Awards are given to AAA and Title VI directors or their affiliates (staff, Board or Advisory Council) who have demonstrated exceptional leadership capabilities at the local, state or national level in advancing the mission of the Older Americans Act and preparing communities for our nation’s rapidly aging population. Winners are nominated and then selected by a panel of their peers.

2023, Kathy Vesley, Bay Aging, Urbanna, VA
2022, Joanne Fetzko, Somerset County Aging and Disability Services, Somerville, NJ
2021, Joan Hatem-Roy, Elder Services of the Merrimack Valley and North Shore, Lawrence, MA 
2020, Laura Trejo, City of Los Angeles Department of Aging, Los Angeles, CA
2019, Regina Sayers, Appalachian Agency for Senior Citizens, Cedar Bluff, VA
2019, Lisa James, Cherokee Nation, Cherokee Nation, OK
2018, Kathryn Boles, Valley Area Agency on Aging, Flint, MI
2018, John Skirven, Senior Services of Southeastern Virginia, Norfolk, VA
2018, Roberta Sue Slinkard, Osage Tribe of Oklahoma, Pawhuska, OK
2017, Jonathan Lavin, AgeOptions, Oak Park, IL
2016, Lynn Kellogg, Region IV Area Agency on Aging, St. Joseph, MI
2016, Mary Beals-Luedtka, Northern Arizona Council of Governments AAA, Flagstaff, AZ
2016, Rosanne DiStefano, Elder Services of the Merrimack Valley, Inc., Lawrence, MA
2015, Guy Dutra-Silveria, Pikes Peak Area Agency on Aging, Colorado Springs, CO
2015, Kay Hind, Southwest Georgia Council on Aging, Albany, GA
2015, Rhonda Weaver, Quapaw Tribe, Quapaw, OK
2014, Ron Hill, Western Reserve Area Agency on Aging, Cleveland, OH
2013, Brenda House, Wyandotte Nation, Wyandotte, OK
2013, William S. Massey, Peninsula Agency on Aging, Inc., Newport News, VA
2012, Marilyn Pace Maxwell, Mountain Empire Older Citizens, Inc., Big Stone Gap, VA
2011, Joseph L. Ruby, Direction Home Akron Canton Area Agency on Aging, Uniontown, OH
2010, Donna Harvey, Northeast Iowa Area Agency on Aging, Waterloo, IA
2010, Barry Donenfeld, NorthWest Senior & Disability Services, Salem, OR
2010, Sydney Bird, Omaha Tribe of Nebraska, Macy, NE
2009, Anita Huff, Blue Lake Rancheria, Blue Lake, CA
2009, Mary Lynn Kasunic, Area Agency on Aging, Region One, Phoenix, AZ

USAging Fact: Learn about your peers’ work—and how it can fit into your agency’s goals! The AIA Awards recognizes successful and innovative programs that USAging members have developed to serve older adults. Get inspiration from our 2023 winners!